Fort Smith Public Schools Board of Education

  • The Fort Smith Public School District is governed by a seven-member Board of Education. Five members are elected by zone while two are elected in at-large positions. School Board meetings are held on the fourth Monday of each month at 5:30 p.m. in the Service Center Auditorium, located in Building B of the Service Center complex, 3205 Jenny Lind Road, unless otherwise noted. The meetings are open to the public. Parents, grandparents, care-providers of FSPS students, and Fort Smith and Barling residents are encouraged to become more familiar with the governance of the School District. For more information, please call 479-785-2501, ext. 91206.

    The meeting agenda will be posted the Thursday prior to each meeting and the approved minutes of previous meetings will be available on the following Tuesday.

    Citizens wishing to address the Board should complete the Request to Speak form and submit it prior to the Regular School Board meeting. Paper copies of this form are available before each Regular meeting.

    The school board election is held annually on the third Tuesday of May. 

    In addition to the documents posted on this site, the District maintains the District's Board of Education records which date back to the late 19th Century. A citizen may make an appointment to review these documents by contacting the Superintendent's Office at 479-785-2501.  

    Board of Education

    2022-2023 Board of Education members

    From left to right, Board members Matt Blaylock (at-large), Davin Chitwood (at-large), Talicia Richardson (Zone 4), Dee Blackwell (Zone 3), Phil Whiteaker (Zone 1), Sandy Dixon (Zone 2), Dalton Person (Zone 5) are pictured here with Superintendent Dr. Terry Morawski

    Zone I, 2026 - Phil Whiteaker
    Zone II, 2024- Sandy Dixon
    Zone III, 2024 - Dee Blackwell
    Zone IV, 2026 - Talicia Richardson
    Zone V, 2027 - Dalton Person
    At-Large, 2025 - Matt Blaylock
    At-Large, 2025 - Davin Chitwood

    Contact information:

    Dee Blackwell —
    Phil Whiteaker —
    Sandy Dixon — 
    Talicia Richardson —
    Matt Blaylock —
    Dalton Person —
    Davin Chitwood — 


    To determine your school board zone, view the above maps or:

    To view your precinct by your residential address, follow these steps:

    School Board Election Information

    -The school board election for Fort Smith Public Schools was held on May 24, 2022.

    -Candidate packets are available at the county clerk’s office for each election year.

    -Also available is the 2022 Election Calendar which is posted on the Elections page of the Arkansas Secretary of State website.

    -You may also contact the Sebastian County Clerk's Office for more information.