• Fort Smith Public Schools Board of Education

    The Fort Smith Public School District is governed by a seven-member Board of Education. Four members are elected by zone while three are elected in at-large positions. School Board meetings are held on the fourth Monday of each month at 5:30 p.m. in the Service Center Auditorium, located in Building B of the Service Center complex, 3205 Jenny Lind Road, unless otherwise noted. The meetings are open to the public. Parents, grandparents, care-providers of FSPS students, and Fort Smith residents are encouraged to become more familiar with the governance of the School District. For more information please call 479-785-2501, ext. 1206.

    The meeting agenda will be posted the Thursday prior to each meeting and the approved minutes of previous meetings will be available on the following Tuesday. The school board election is held annually on the third Tuesday in May. Citizens wishing to address the board may call 479-785-2501 to be placed on the board's agenda. This must be submitted to the Superintendent's Office in writing 72 hours prior to the meeting. Or, citizens may fill out a Citizen Participation Form available at the beginning of the meeting.

    In addition to the documents posted on this site the District maintains the District's Board of Education records which date back to the late 19th Century. A patron may make an appointment to review these documents by contacting the Superintendent's Office at 479-785-2501.  

                                            Board of Education 

                     Susan McFerran, President Zone II, 2019               Bill Hanesworth, Vice-President At Large, 2018             Photo of Yvonne Keaton-Martin Zone IV, 2018

                     Susan McFerran, President                 Bill Hanesworth, Vice-President           Yvonne Keaton-Martin, Secretary
                     Zone II, 2022                                           At Large, 2021                                          Zone IV, 2021



    Photo of Wade Gilkey Zone I, 2018           Photo of Jeannie Cole Zone III, 2020           Photo of Talicia Richardson At Large, 2019           Photo of Greg Magness At Large, 2020

    Wade Gilkey                                    Jeannie Cole                                     Talicia Richardson                           Greg Magness
    Zone I, 2021                                      Zone III, 2020                                    At Large, 2019                                  At Large, 2020



    Susan McFerran susanamcferran@gmail.com
    Bill Hanesworth wchanesworth@littlefieldoil.com
    Yvonne Keaton-Martin foxynana9@att.net
    Wade Gilkey mgilkey@shelterinsurance.com
    Jeannie Cole jeannie@thecolefamily.com
    Talicia Richardson taliciarichardson@gmail.com
    Greg Magness gmagness@hardinlaw.com