Return to Headlines

January Is School Board Appreciation Month

The Arkansas School Boards Association (ASBA) announced that January is School Board Member Recognition Month in Arkansas. School board members play an essential role in our community. Fort Smith Public Schools will join other districts in Arkansas in celebration of our board by thanking them for the time, talents, and knowledge they bring to our district and for their commitment to the families and children of our community.

Dr. Terry Morawski, Superintendent, said, “While we make a special effort to show our appreciation in January, the contribution of our school board members is a year-round commitment. We are thankful for the time and effort our board members spend to ensure the success of our students.”

The members serving the Fort Smith Public School District include:
Dee Blackwell, President, Zone III
Talicia Richardson, Vice President, Zone IV
Dalton Person, Secretary, Zone V
Matt Blaylock, At Large
Davin Chitwood, At Large
Sandy Dixon, Zone II
Phil Whiteaker, Zone I

Fort Smith Public Schools Administration and Principals will visit with and thank the board for their service on Monday, January 23, before the board meeting from 5:00-5:30 PM in the Building B Lobby of the Service Center complex, 3205 Jenny Lind Road.

FSPS School Board