Return to Headlines

Fort Smith Schools Students Named 2021 National Merit Scholarship Finalists

Four students from Fort Smith Public Schools have been named 2021 National Merit Scholarship Finalists by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC). All Finalists will be considered for National Merit Scholarship awards to be offered in 2021. 

  • Jaicie Clayton, Southside High School
    • Daughter of Dr. Justin and Jaidi Clayton
  • Jackson Hannan, Southside High School
    • Son of Jeff Hannan and Jennifer Little
  • Jackson Minnick, Southside High School 
    • Son of Mark and Autumn Minnick (FSPS teachers) 
  • Haris Rana, Southside High School
    • Son of Javed and Sara Rana 

2021 National Merit Scholarship FInalists

Pictured from left to right: Jaicie Clayton, Jackson Hannan, Haris Rana and Jackson Minnick 

There were approximately 16,000 Semifinalists in the 66th annual National Merit Scholarship Program representing less than 1% of U.S. high school seniors.

Clayton, Hannan, Minnick and Rana will continue in the competition for some 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $30 million, earning the Merit Scholar® title.

“It is very exciting that all four of our semifinalists are now finalists for a National Merit Scholarship! I couldn’t be prouder of these students and their efforts,” said Dr. Lisa Miller, Southside High School Principal. 

To become a Finalist, Clayton, Hannan, Minnick and Rana submitted a detailed scholarship application, in which they provide information about their academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, and honors and awards received. 

National Merit Scholarship winners of 2021 will be announced in four nationwide news releases beginning in April, May, June and July.