Return to Headlines

May Board of Education Recognitions

May 24, 2021 Board of Education Meeting Recognitions


Superintendent's Star Students

Howard Elementary Principal Velmar Greene and teacher Dawn Hawkins nominated Jayda Allen because Jayda is very responsible and always has a positive attitude. Jayda is the daughter of Krista Allen.

Kashmir Criswell was nominated by Spradling principal Robyn Dawson and teacher Jessica Plett because Kashmir works hard to get her work done and is always willing to help her classmates. Kashmir is the daughter of Tino and Kimberly Criswell.

Carnall Elementary teacher Brandi Harper and principal Dr. Taneka Tate nominated Cameron Humphries because Cameron has a kind heart and is a friend to everyone. Cameron is the son of Scott and LaDonna Humphries.

Brandon Martinez Gonzales was nominated by his teacher Abigail Dewater and Tilles principal Sonia Guerrero because he is respectful towards his teachers and is always willing to help his peers. Brandon is the son of Maria Gonzalez and Juan Martinez.

Orr Elementary teacher Nan Hargett and Principal Dr. Dawn Childress nominated Caleb Medlyn because Caleb is compassionate and leads by example. Caleb is the son of Lisa and Bruce Medlyn.

Kyrin Phongsavath was nominated by his teacher Emily Durham and Fairview Principal Nicole Shaffer because he goes above and beyond in everything he does. Kyrin is the son of Sou (Sue) Phongsavath. 

Woods Elementary teacher Samantha Rodebush and Principal Andrea Schwartz nominated Allie Kate Thompson because she makes everyone around her feel special by showing them that she cares. Allie is the daughter of Kyle and Meagan Thompson. 

Amanda Trantham was nominated by Pike Elementary teacher Vickie Terry and Principal Monica Austin because Amanda is a hard-working student and is a great role model. Amanda is the daughter of Danny and Truc Trantham. 

Barling Elementary teachers Teresa Johnson and Daniel Bardin, along with Carl Hill, principal, nominated Jakobe Travis because he encourages his peers and is always willing to help others. Jakobe is the son of Anthony Travis.

Student and Staff Recognitions


Fairview Elementary student Chloe Durham was surprised on Friday with the American Legion Auxiliary National and Local Hero & Good Deed Award! Chloe received this award for her work in collecting over 300 blankets for the homeless. We are so proud of Chloe!


Southside High School senior Marlon Briggs Jr. was awarded the 2021 Arkansas Boys & Girls Clubs Youth of the Year. Marlon first joined the Boys & Girls club in elementary school and continues to serve as a volunteer, helping out wherever he is needed. Marlon will represent Arkansas in the Southwest Regional Competition in June.


The Southside High School Maverick Quiz Bowl team won the 2021 7A Arkansas Governor’s Quiz Bowl Association State Championship held on Saturday, April 24. The Mavericks defeated Bryant 325-285 in a close match. This is the 6th state title for the Maverick Quiz Bowl Team. Team members are Jonathan Hernandez, Zainab Bashir, Zain Rana, Alex Rahal, Christian Morales, Victor Nguyen, Haris Rana, Vivian Apple, Callie Shannon, Andrea Ortega, Emma Paulus and captain Jack Minnick. Josh Adams is the Maverick Quiz Bowl coach.


Junior Alcala, Emmanuel Uribe and Slate Stanton became the first Northside High School esports team to win the 2021 Super Smash Bros Ultimate State Championship! Congratulations to this esports team on their win! April Coats their sponsor.


Southside High School’s Maverick Track and Field team won the Arkansas High School State Track and Field Championship in the 4x400 with a time of 3:25:89. Team members are Landry Grandstaff, John Greenfield, Xander Naegle and Matt Haddock. Their winning time was the fastest recorded throughout Arkansas for the 2020-2021 season. Their coaches are Aaron Kareus and Brad West. 


Northside High School’s Grizzly Track and Field team won the Arkansas High School State Track and Field Championship in the 4x100. The team completed this event with a time of 42:10. Team members are Dreyden Norwood, Tyheen Prosise, DaMari Smith and Avonte Tucker. Their coaches are Jeff Lewis and Felix Curry.


Jacob Weaver and Theavan Saitang, both from Southside High School became national winners over the weekend, earning the title of Best Newscast: Radio or Television from the National Federation of Press Women, Inc. Marissa Goodwin also earned national recognition, winning first place in Sports Photography. Congratulations to the Mav Media students!


Belle Point PE teacher Grant Needham was named the 2020-2021 Society and Health of Physical Educators Arkansas (SHAPE) High School Teacher of the Year. Mr. Needham is a graduate of Northside High School and has been the PE teacher at Belle Point for four years. 


Dr. Lisa Miller, principal of Southside High School, was named the Arkansas Scholastic Press Association Administrator of the Year. Mav Media staff members nominated Dr. Miller for this award because of her tireless support of Mav Media and her confidence in scholastic journalism to contribute to a positive environment that motivates students and provides an avenue for learning and creativity.