Return to Headlines

Fort Smith Public Schools School Board Welcomes New Member, Elects Officers

 At a called board meeting on Tuesday, March 26, 2024, the Fort Smith Public Schools Board of Education elected officers. They chose Dalton Person as president, Phil Whiteaker as vice president, and Davin Chitwood as secretary.

Susan Krafft, Zone III representative, won reelection to serve a five-year term. The board also welcomed newly elected member Lynnett Lott, who represents Zone II and will also serve a five-year term. Ms. Lott works as a dental hygienist in Fort Smith, where she and her family have lived for over 30 years. She and her husband have three children, one of whom attends Southside High School.

“I truly believe that being a productive member of society means helping where and when you can. I love this area of Arkansas and know that in order to grow in a city, you have to have a solid academically achieving school system. I want to be a part of positive progress,” said Ms. Lott. 

Learn more about the Fort Smith Public Schools Board of Education