Return to Headlines

February Board Meeting highlights many district awards and recognitions

Board of Education Recognitions  |  February 2019 

Superintendent’s Star Award Winners (Select to view recognition pictures)

Brayan Ajanel is a third grader at Trusty Elementary. He is the son of Javier Ajanel. Dr. Shantelle Edwards says that Brayan has demonstrated a fierce desire to learn as he faces obstacles with a positive attitude. Brayan has only been a Trusty Tiger for a year but everyone who meets him expresses how proud they are to work with such a pleasant and respectful young man!

Timmy Carrier is the son of Sean and Sarah Carrier. He is a fourth grader at Woods Elementary.  Principal Andrea Schwartz says she is nominating Timmy for his ability to stay laser-focused. Timmy showed extreme bravery when he was in a car accident with his mother.  He was able to relay all the important information needed to help his mother and himself quickly. 

Katie Chavarria is a fifth grader at Howard Elementary School.  She is the daughter of Concepcion Saravis and Julio Chavarria.  Principal Velmar Green says that Katie is an avid reader, and so far, she has read more books than anyone else in her class. Katie’s teachers say that she is a seeker of knowledge with a growth mindset and a blessing to everyone who is privileged enough to be around her. 

Jennyfer Chavez is the daughter of Juan and Dominga Chavez.  According to Morrison Principal Britney Ballin, Jennyfer is respectful, responsible and kind.  She is a leader in the classroom, and always volunteers to help those who need it.  When new students only speak Spanish, Jennyfer is the first to jump in and help them in any way she can.    

Chloe Connelly is first grader at Cook and is the daughter of Jason and Emily Connelly. Chloe was nominated by Dr. Courtney Morawski because she is an active listener; she participates by adding to class discussions. Chloe also shines by working diligently every day.  She shows compassion by showing patience and integrity when others make hasty decisions.  Chloe will shine wherever her future takes her! 

Jacqueline Espinoza is currently as a third grader at Spradling Elementary. She is the daughter of Luis Espinoza and Guadalupe Lechuga. Principal Robyn Dawson says that Jacqueline is a fantastic Spradling Eagle. She is kind and respectful. She works hard to get all of her work done and to help others when needed. She always has a smile for anyone who needs it and always chooses to do the right thing!

Edwin Gomez is the son of Adolfo Gomez and Yessica Najera. Carnall Principal Dr. Taneka Tate says that Edwin is TRULY a seed that has grown to blossom! At the beginning of the year, Edwin struggled. Many teachers and students rallied around him and now he comes to school ready to work and learn; he is a vibrant confident student who smiles ALL the time and is excited to be at school. 

A’Journi Hamilton is a fifth grader at Sutton Elementary.  She is the daughter of Lakeisha Lee. Principal Jennie Mathews says that A’Journi is extremely helpful and works to improve each and every day. She shows leadership in class and around the school in many ways. She is one of the first to volunteer when someone needs assistance and she is kind to others. Great job, A'Journi!

Coleson Hurst is the son of Karie and Chris Hurst.  He is a second grader.  Principal Gina Mann says that Coleson is a positive student who is always helping others. He demonstrates good choices, is friendly, helpful, and always does his best in everything. He is always smiling and willing to help his classmates. Coleson is a great addition to any classroom and makes everyone very proud to call him a Euper Lane Eagle!

Tatum Grace Loe
is the daughter of Brooke and Danny Loe.  Bonneville Principal Sharla Whitson says that Tatum Grace is a goal setter- she sets goals and then creates a plan to achieve them. She is a friend to ALL students.  She volunteers her time to coordinate activities and participate in events such as ringing the bell for the Salvation Army Red Kettle Drive. Tatum Grace is a student who is an excellent role model for other students!



Darby Junior High School Ninth Grade Band, directed by Angie Clark and Kimmons Junior High School 8th Grade Band directed by Chris Ha were selected by competitive and blind audition last year as the 2019 All State Honor Bands representing their class and grade. This is the first time that two bands from the same district have been selected. Both bands had spectacular performances at the Arkansas All State Music Conference on February 15 in Hot Springs, AR. 

These state-recognized honor performances are precursors to the Saturday All-State performances in Band, Choir and Orchestra.

Fort Smith Public School District music educators continue to set their student up for great success. Thank you to Sean Carrier, Gordon Manley, Gaye Mings, Katy Featherston, Curtis Hansen and Steven Hughes.

This year more than 80 students earned 102 positions in All-State Music groups.

Three of these students earned first chairs positions.                                                                                                            

Kariman Alsein Southside High School, earned First Chair, Soprano 2 in the Mixed Chorus                                                      

Kennedy Ryan, Southside High School, earned First Chair, Trumpet in the Wind Symphony

Yael Saucedo Northside High School, earned First Chair, Trombone in the Jazz Band


President’s Service Award

Two Southside students received the President’s Volunteer Service Award from the Prudential Spirit of Community Awards. This award recognizes Americans of all ages who have volunteered significant amounts of time to serve their communities.

Jenna Drake, a senior, is a part of her worship team at New Life Church, volunteering there countless hours over the past three years. She also plays the cello in the Southside Orchestra and is involved in school.

Ryan Keefer is a volunteer in the ER and in the Oncology department at Mercy where he has clocked more than 2,000 volunteer hours. Keefer is also in the WATC CNA program. He plans to become a Registered Nurse after high school.


Southside Bowling Team

Southside Bowling Team members are champions again! Coached by Tadd Stewart, Nathan Barrie, Ryan Beallis, Colby Harger, Dylan Humphries, Hunter Humphries, Hunter Salisbury, and Irvin Skotland, defeated their competition earning the 2019 6A State Bowling tournament title.


Christopher Davis

Christopher Davis, Northside High School assistant principal and Northside graduate, has earned his doctorate in Educational Leadership from Arkansas State University. Dr. Davis, who has been Northside’s assistant principal since 2016, received his Bachelor of Music from Arkansas Tech University. He earned his Master in Educational Leadership from Arkansas State University.


Dr. Doug Brubaker

Recently, Dr. Doug Brubaker was among the nearly 40 superintendents and other administrators recognized for successfully completing the AASA National Superintendent Certification Program®, administered by AASA, The School Superintendents Association.

This 18-month certification process is tailored for superintendents who have been in the job seven years or fewer. The forums, seminars and coaching provide opportunities to define and examine issues that surface in real-life situations. Including

  • Providing world-class instructional leadership;
  • Building and managing a district budget;
  • Mastering effective communication and political skills;
  • Using 21st century technology effectively in instruction and management;
  • Managing superintendent/school board relations; and
  • Designing a career path for oneself.

Congratulations, Dr. Brubaker! We are very proud of what you are accomplishing for our students, school district and our community.