Return to Headlines

Northside High School Shines at State Championship competitions

This past weekend was an absolute sweep for Northside High School.

The Board of Education is delighted to recognize the success of three championship teams. (Select to view recognition photos)

The FSPS JROTC Team won their 17th State American Legion Rifle Championship in 19 years.
Jackie Pham, Koi Hampton, Johnny Chiamsachang, Christa Head and Oneida Ibarra earned the State Championship title in the Precision Class on Saturday March 9, 2019. Janet Phommaha, Jaylin Do, Alaysia Vongkhamchanh and Tina Tran earned the State Championship title in the Sporter Division on the same day. They are advised by Steve Lowdermilk.

Many took the opportunity to enjoy these two very exciting games on Friday March 8, 2019.

The Northside Lady Bears took the floor at 2:30 and battled Bentonville’s Lady Tigers to the last second, when Jersey Wolfenbarger launched the winning shot. She was named the tournament’s Girls 6A Most Valuable Player with 21 points, 7 for 7 at the free throw line and the girls were 11/11 as a team. 

The Lady Bears are Eriel West, Jersey Wolfenbarger, Deairah Mays, Tamia Knauls, Avery Shelly, Laila Reese, Jalyn Ford, Tracey Bershers, Tiay Douglas, Kayla Flemming, Sara Bershers, Quineisha Tillery, Jazzlyn Coleman, Matia Stewart, Jashanti Cherry, Ashantay Dotson, Lakailah Howard, Abby Hunter, Iesha Tillery and Lydia Reith.

Head Coach of the Lady Bears is Rickey Smith, with assistant coaches Scott Thompson, Randa Grant, Merrill Mankin and Conner Whitson.  Managers are Aja Ford and Ashantay Dotson. Student Trainers are Kyeshia Weston and Kayla Jenkins.

Within minutes of the Lady Bears victory, the Northside Grizzlies charged in to lead the Bryant Hornets the majority of their game, allowing only one tie-up. Again, with seconds left the Grizzlies secured the 2019 State 6A Boys Championship, led by Jaylin Williams who was named the tournament’s 6A Boys Most Valuable player with 20 points, 16 rebounds and 3 blocks.

Grizzly team members are Semonte Henderson, Derrick Perry, Jermualle Norwood, Noah Gordon, Javion Releford, Jacob Joe, Jan Miranda, Jajuan Thorne, Chris Poullard, Jordon Wright, Jaylin Williams, Evan Walker and Braylin McKinley.

Grizzly Head Coach is Eric Burnett, with assistant coaches Nick Yarbrough and Greg Scott.  Managers are Bryan Cerda and Zaqarre Releford.

This is the second time that these two teams have shared their victories. The last time was 12 years ago in 2007.

Congratulations to all three of these teams! Your hard work has paid dividends this season.