Return to Headlines

Fort Smith School Board Election Dates and Locations Announced

In accordance with the requirements of Arkansas Code Annotated (6-14-109), notice is hereby given that the annual school election in the Fort Smith School District will be held on Tuesday, May 21, 2019. All school boards in Sebastian County besides Fort Smith do not have any contested races.

To check your voter registration status and view a sample ballot go to Voters with address changes or questions related to voting eligibility, please call the County Clerk’s office at 782-5065 prior to Election Day.



LOCATIONS LISTED BELOW. Early voting begins on Tuesday, May 14 through Friday May 17, 2019 and ends on Monday, May 20, 2019. Early voting is available from 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM. ALL early voting closes at 5:00 PM on May 20, 2019. 


Sebastian County Courthouse, Room G835 South 6th Street, Fort Smith, AR

Creekmore Community Center: 3301 S. M Street, Fort Smith, AR

Greenwood City Hall, Council Room: 30 Bell Road, Greenwood, AR


In accordance with the requirements of Ark. Code Ann. § 6‑14‑106, notice is hereby given that:

(1)  The vote centers for each ward or precinct in the 2019 annual school election, May 21, is as follows:

(2) Please note that the Sebastian County Board of Election Commissioners has reduced the number of polling sites for this 2019 school election as compared to the 2018 school election. The 2018 school election was conducted with the primary election, and as a result, there were more open voting centers.



Vote Centers listed below will be open from 7:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. on Election Day. All eligible voters in Sebastian County will be able to cast their vote at any Vote Center listed below on Election Day.

Creekmore Park Rec Bldg: 3301 South M Street, Fort Smith, AR

St. Bartholomew Episcopal: 2701 Old Greenwood Road, Fort Smith, AR

First Baptist Church: 1400 Grand Ave, Fort Smith, AR

Goddard Methodist Church: 1922 Dodson Ave, Fort Smith, AR

Windsor Library: 4701 Windsor Drive, Fort Smith, AR

Ramsey Junior High Torando Shelter: 3201 Jenny Lind Road, Fort Smith, AR

Orr Elementary School Tornado Shelter: 3609 Phoenix Ave, Fort Smith, AR

Southside Senior Center: 2700 Cavanaugh Road, Fort Smith, AR

Forefront Church (Formerly Fianna Baptist): 10300 Jenny Lind, Fort Smith, AR

East Side Baptist Church: 2710 Massard Road, Fort Smith, AR

Ben Geren Park Tornado Shelter: 7200 Zero Street, Fort Smith, AR

In the event of Emergency on Election Day, May 21, 2019 the polling locations could be consolidated to one polling location: Room G8 in the Fort Smith Courthouse. Please see the Sebastian County website to view the Sebastian County Elections Emergency and Inclement Weather Policy for Election Day at

The ballot and election results, when available, may be viewed at


ABSENTEE VOTING: County Clerk’s office, Sebastian County Courthouses (Fort Smith and Greenwood) April 5, 2019 – May 20, 2019.  Absentee ballot processing will begin at 6:00 p.m. on Election Day (May 21) in Room G-8 of the Sebastian County Courthouse, Fort Smith, Arkansas.