Return to Headlines

September 28, 2020 Board Meeting Recognitions

March 2020 Superintendent Star Award winners

Superintendent Stars are selected for this recognition as students who are exceptional citizens and who consistently make good choices.

Khamron Brown is a second grader at Euper Lane Elementary and was nominated by Euper principal Gina Mann. According to his teachers, Khamron is a hardworking and helpful student who is always ready to learn. Khamron is the son of Joshua Brown and Malayphanh Vongsady.

Katherine Cardona Caretto who is now a seventh grader at Kimmons was nominated by Trusty Elementary Principal Dr. Shantelle Edwards. Katherine is a natural leader and is always willing to help others. Katherine is the daughter of Guadalupe Caretto.

Former Cook Elementary Principal Dr. Courtney Morawski nominated first grader Ellie Haid because she is a great influence on her classmates. Ellie uses Cook’s positive affirmations every day and encourages her classmates to do the same. Ellie is the daughter of Jason Haid and Christen Roberts.

Jonnathan Iraheta who is a seventh grader at Darby now was nominated by Howard Elementary Principal Velmar Greene because he is a kind, compassionate and genuine soul who is always ready to help others. Jonnathan is the son of Dilsa Iraheta and Guillermo Gomez.

Bonneville Elementary Principal Sharla Whitson nominated fifth grader Gabriel Longoria because Gabriel’s teacher says he is always motivated to do his work and is always respectful to his classmates and his teachers. Gabriel is the son of Kristen and Charlie Longoria.

Fifth grader Tae Mason was nominated by Morrison Elementary Principal Britney Ballin because he is always seeking ways to improve his skills and achieve his goals. He is also always willing to help his classmates or anyone else around the school. Tae is the son of Barbara Matthews.

Carnall Elementary Principal Dr. Taneka Tate nominated sixth grader Brooklynn McKinney because she is an attentive and responsible leader who is also a great example for her peers. Brooklynn is the daughter of Amey McKinney.

Luis Juarez Medina is a sixth grader at Sutton Elementary. Principal Jennie Mathews nominated Luis because he is always working hard to improve his skills and always has a great attitude. Luis is the son of Andrea Medina.

Spradling Elementary Principal Robyn Dawson nominated fourth grader Lyna Vo because she is a bright student who is always encouraging her classmates to do their best. Lyna is the daughter of Duc Vo and Hong Thu Nguyen.


Our community continues to support the health and safety of our students and staff with donations of PPE, school supplies and treats. Here are a few representative shout-outs:

  • When they could not host the annual Back to School Breakfast for teachers, the Fort Smith Chamber of Commerce delivered breakfast to 26 schools.
  • HPM donated hand sanitizer and gloves to Darby, Fairview and Woods.
  • “You Matter Fort Smith” provided face shields to Woods Elementary, and
  • the Fort Smith chapter of the Million Masks Challenge donated more than 1,000 masks to the These masks were distributed to district nurses who are using them for students who need them when they need them.
  • When they could not organize a usual school supply drive, the Fort Smith Regional United Way organized a fund drive. They recently presented a check from the Virtual version of their “Fill the Bus.”
  • Our area McDonald’s have donated “free breakfast” cards as a special thanks for the hard work that teachers and school support staff do on behalf of FSPS students.

Approximately 16,000 students have qualified as Semifinalists in the 66th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. This nationwide pool represents less than 1% of U.S. high school seniors. We have Four Southside High School students who are included in that 1%; Jaicie Clayton, Jackson Hannon, Jackson Minnick, and Haris Rana have been officially recognized as 2021 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists. Congratulations!


Liana Bolton is now serving as the assistant principal at Euper Lane and Orr Elementary Schools. Mrs. Bolton earned her Bachelor of Arts in English Education from Arkansas Tech University and her Master of Arts in Education Administration and Supervision from the University of Phoenix. Prior to this assignment, Mrs. Bolton has served as the Dean of Students at Kenny C. Guinn Middle School in Las Vegas, Nevada and most recently as the assistant principal at Southside High School where she has been since 2013.

Michelle Burnett has joined the Southside High School administrative team as an assistant principal. Mrs. Burnett has worked in Fort Smith Public Schools since 1996, first as a teacher at Howard and Orr Elementary Schools. She has also worked as ESL certified staff, an elementary counselor and has been the assistant principal at Euper Lane and Orr Elementary Schools. Mrs. Burnett has a Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education and a Master of Science in Counseling Leadership, as well as a Building Level Administration Leadership certification, all from Arkansas Tech University.

Martha McEntire is FSPS’ new Supervisor of Child Nutrition. Ms. McEntire has worked in child nutrition for 18 years, 16 of those years in the Fort Smith Public School District. Since 2004, Ms. McEntire has served as a child nutrition worker, a cafeteria manager, a senior cafeteria manager and most recently, the lead cafeteria manager for the district.

Kerri Tucker joins the FSPS team as the School Based Health Center Coordinator. Prior to this assignment, Kerri has worked as the Director of Support Services at Harbor View Mercy Hospital, Chief Operating Officer and most recently Interim CEO at Perspectives Behavioral Health Management. Kerri has a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Social Work from the University of Arkansas and is also an Arkansas Licensed Social Worker. She will begin work focused on developing Fort Smith’s first School-Based Health Center.

New Barling and Woods assistant principal Miranda Watson joined the Fort Smith Public Schools instructional team when she graduated from the University of Arkansas at Fort Smith with a Bachelor of Science degree in Early Childhood Education. She earned a Masters in Educational Leadership from Arkansas State University. She taught at Sunnymede and Tilles Elementary Schools, and was most recently the Title I Elementary Specialist at Tilles. Ms. Watson is also ESL certified.