Return to Headlines

October 26, 2020 Board Meeting Recognitions

October 2020 Superintendent Star Award Winners

Cavanaugh Elementary Principal Hank Needham nominated Madeline Alt because Madeline is the definition of a star student. She is actively involved with the recycling program and has stepped up to participate in the Safety Patrol program, even in bad weather. Madeline is the daughter of Matt and Alice Alt. 

Ky’Rell Black was nominated by Bonneville Elementary Principal Sharla Whitson. According to his teacher, Ky’Rell is not only a hard-working student, he is always respectful to his peers and his teachers. He is a leader and willing to help out in any situation. Ky’Rell is the son of Samira Black and Lawrence Toran.

Trevor Brown, was nominated by Euper Lane Elementary Principal Gina Mann because he is patient, focused and always works to his full potential. Trevor is the son of Johnny and Tina Brown.

Izel Guzman-Aroche was nominated by Sutton Elementary Principal Jennie Mathews because she is instrumental in helping with after school dismissal and takes her role as a Safety Patrol leader very seriously. Izel is the daughter of Angel and Norma Guzman.

Trusty Elementary Principal Dr. Shantelle Edwards nominated Valery Henriquez because Valery is responsible, respectful and is always willing to help others. Valery is the daughter of Anna Chavez and Fidel Henriquez. 

Brandon Mendez was nominated by Morrison Elementary principal Britney Watson because Brandon is kind and comes to school each day eager to learn. Brandon is the son of Lizeth Mendez.

Orr Elementary Principal Dr. Dawn Childress nominated Milena Solis because she is hard-working, focused and always strives to improve. Milena is the daughter of Julieta Solis.

Sunnymede Elementary principal Krystle Smith nominated Lizette Villalba Lopez because she is a student who is always following procedures and is a great example for her peers. Lizette is the daughter of Elizabeth Lopez.

Brinkley Wilson was nominated by Ballman Elementary principal Lori Griffin because Brinkley comes to school each day with a smile and a positive attitude. Brinkley is the son of Shyla Keck and Steven Wilson.


Northside High School senior Tadareo Thomas was selected as the winner of the U.S. Marshal’s Museum Voting PSA Competition. Tadareo created a 30-second PSA on the importance of voting. As the winner of the competition, the PSA has been and will continue to air on all four of the Fort Smith Radio Group stations throughout October. Visit the FSPS YouTube channel to hear the PSA.

For the third consecutive year in a row, Southside High School was selected for the 2020 Great Schools College Success Award by Great! This award recognizes and celebrates public schools that are doing an outstanding job of preparing graduating seniors for post-secondary success. Southside was one of 2,158 schools in 29 states across the nation honored with this award!

Thanks to the support of the donors listed on the screen, because we were not able to host Camp Invention, the National Inventers Hall of Fame has provided STEM Maker Lab for approximately 1,100 students across the district. The lab includes curriculum and materials needed for 30 creative, hands-on activities that guide students through realistic STEM experiences and energize the inventor within.

The American Foundation for Suicide Prevention (AFSP) is a national organization dedicated to saving lives and bringing hope to those affected by suicide. The Arkansas chapter of AFSP presented the 2020 LifeSaver School Award to the Fort Smith School District for the work that has been done by FSPS counselors going above and beyond to make sure the school environment is a safer place for students. 

Fort Smith Public Schools social workers received a grant for $1,344.00 for their Friday Closet Initiative from the Foundation Board of First United Methodist Church in Fort Smith. The Friday Closet initiative helps to meet emergency needs of students and families on the weekends.

Susanna Post, a math and business technology teacher at Belle Point Alternative Learning Center was named as the 2021 Arkansas Teacher of the Year. Susanna, who has been a teacher for five years, uses her previous business world experience to build relationships with her students, connect them with the outside community, and give them real-world, relatable problems to solve. She strongly believes that positive relationships result in improved student learning and a strong school culture. Her multi-dimensional approach to reaching each student is what earned her the title of Arkansas Teacher of the Year.