Return to Headlines

Nicole Franklin Selected as Fort Smith Public Schools’ Teacher of the Year

Nicole Franklin, fourth grade teacher at Orr Elementary, has been selected as the Fort Smith Public Schools’ Teacher of the Year. She is a National Board Certified Teacher, a member of the Arkansas High Reliability Teacher Cohort and celebrates 15 years working for FSPS.  Ms. Franklin serves as the Orr Student Council sponsor, PTA officer, principal-teacher-in-charge, and member of the Orr Guiding Coalition.

“Being selected as Teacher of the Year is such an amazing honor. I absolutely love what I do and can't imagine doing anything else. My students, past and present, my family, and my coworkers motivate me to continue bettering myself and my teaching practice. They all played a huge part in helping me achieve this award. I am completely blown away!” said Nicole.

Orr Elementary Principal Dr. Dawn Childress said, “Nicole Franklin is an exceptional teacher! She is always focused on student success. She builds a culture of excellence through building relationships and having high expectations for all students. She is our 4th and 5th grade Collaborative Team Leader. She is an important member of our Orr Guiding Coalition. Her love for her students is evident in her everyday interactions. She has served as an instructional facilitator in the district, but she missed teaching students. She came back to the classroom 5 years ago. I have seen her continually learn and grow. You could walk into her classroom anytime of the day, any day, and you would see students engaged in great learning!”

Each year, the district alternates between elementary and secondary schools to nominate a candidate for the award. As a next phase, Ms. Franklin will be eligible to apply and be considered for the Arkansas Teacher of the Year award.