Return to Headlines

Cherri Byford Named Arkansas Counselor of the Year

Fort Smith Public Schools and Darby Middle School counselor Cherri Byford earned Arkansas Counselor of the Year from the Arkansas School Counselor Association. Under her counseling leadership, the Darby Rangers have achieved a historic milestone, becoming one of the first schools in Arkansas to receive the Recognized ASCA Model Program (RAMP) School of Distinction award. (RAMP®), demonstrating to administrators, school boards, families, and the community at large that the schools are committed to supporting the mission of the school and district. Ms. Byford was one of the first in Arkansas to receive this recognition.


Dr. Michael Farrell, Counseling Supervisor of Fort Smith Public Schools, says of her, "Cherri is not only an innovator but also a true leader in school counseling. Her initiatives have included implementing cutting-edge counseling strategies that address the diverse needs of her students. Her ability to adapt and integrate new methodologies showcases her forward-thinking approach and commitment to providing the highest quality counseling services."


Ms. Byford began her counseling career as a high school counselor in Waldron and currently serves as the Lead Secondary Counselor for Fort Smith Public Schools. Her dedication and expertise continue to inspire and improve school counseling standards in Arkansas and beyond. With 24 years of experience in school counseling, Ms. Byford's commitment to professional development is exemplary. She has actively participated in numerous professional development opportunities at local, state, and national levels. Ms. Byford will now go on to compete for School Counselor of the Year at the national level.

June 12, 2024